This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

All users can post to this forum on general music topics.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#232516 by Rhodes30
Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:58 am
Hi there, everyone! My name is Josh and I was hoping I could ask a few questions…

I am an amateur guitarist looking for ways to connect with like-minded musicians in a community to help broaden my skills. I was hoping you could tell me…

1) What things do you struggle the most with (in terms of personal time management) when it comes to being a musician (Job, late hours, disturbing neighbors, etc.)?

2) What do you find the most difficult about connecting with other musicians? (Personality, skills, determination, etc?)

3) What made you want to be a musician?

4) What type of music do you enjoy playing? What type of music do you enjoying listening to? (Does not have to be the same response)

5) How do you reach out and connect with other musicians? (Shows, coffee shops, internet, music shops, etc? )

6) Do you use online resources to connect with other musicians for socializing or promoting music? If so, which websites?

7) Do you ever “jam" with other musicians online over a video service platform such as Skype, Google Hangouts, etc.? If so, how was the experience? What did you like/dislike about it? What could have been improved? Would you consider using another video service platform?

I thoroughly appreciate everyone for taking the time and effort to respond, and if you have any questions feel free to ask.

#232532 by GuitarMikeB
Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:41 pm
1) Time, just finding enough time in the day.
2) Depends - on forming an act/band, everything is a factor.
3) Inborn
4) Anything with a couple of guitars blending well (not just each playing the same thing), vocal harmonies. Listening - many differnet styles, but its got to have feeling.