This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

All users can post to this forum on general music topics.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#147145 by CBoogie
Wed May 25, 2011 8:07 pm
Hey everyone, first time posting here.

I'm having some serious difficulty writing songs. The band I'm in has 2 guitars (but no bassist or drummer-yet), and with no shortage of material to work with, we presently cannot seem to put a complete song together. I should also mention that both of us are self taught and neither of us have any theory to speak of.... sad, I know.

How do you all approach building songs? Which comes first, rhythm or lead? Or do you start with drums first? For those who use 2 guitars, how do you determine what is or isn't a good balance of playing together vice having the separate lead and rhythm parts? How do you approach placement of variations of previous riffs within the same song?

Regarding the Chorus, how soon is too soon?

Also, I know producers have a huge influence on the content of a song. When should a band look at finding a producer to work with?

Any help you all can give would be greatly appreciated.

Chris [/quote]

#147146 by ANGELSSHOTGUN
Wed May 25, 2011 8:57 pm
You are at the beginning. The best thing you can do at this point is imitate.
Learn other peoples songs. Listen, Listen, and Listen some more.

Everyone up here could swamp you, but your eyes would be rolling :roll: .

On a darker note we lost Mark Haines today. :(

#147159 by Etu Malku
Thu May 26, 2011 1:59 am
GlenJ wrote:You are at the beginning. The best thing you can do at this point is imitate.
Learn other peoples songs. Listen, Listen, and Listen some more.

Everyone up here could swamp you, but your eyes would be rolling :roll: .

On a darker note we lost Mark Haines today. :(