This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

All users can post to this forum on general music topics.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#130775 by Joewillplay
Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:40 pm
Do you remember your first guitar
Did you think that you would stick with it.
What drove you to say to yourself this is what I want to do.
Finally where you self taught or did you take lessons.

#130776 by philbymon
Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:46 pm
I certainly do! It was a 64 VOX 12 string that played like a brick.

I knew I would stick with it, cuz it was the most important thing in the world.

What drove me was something deep inside, that almost felt like a programmed directive, & I knew that it was something I could never do without, if I were going to live a happy life.

I'm self-taught, in that I haven't had many lessons from teachers. I've picked up many things from musicians I've played with over the years, though.
#130779 by Mike Nobody
Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:37 pm
2468jo wrote:Do you remember your first guitar
Did you think that you would stick with it.
What drove you to say to yourself this is what I want to do.
Finally where you self taught or did you take lessons.

I may have already mentioned it before. My first guitar was a late 60’s Tiesco I found in somebody’s trash. The previous owner had painted it with ugly house paint. It was missing most of the hardware. I got the electronic parts from a friend’s dad, who gave me the guts from a 1950’s guitar. I got a tune-o-matic bridge at a guitar store. I think I used an old vinyl LP for a pickguard, at first. I stripped off the paint to the original finish and assembled it, in secret. I was forbidden to have ANYTHING relating to music at the time. My parents thought that rock n’ roll was corrupting me or something. I even remember the first song I played, “Spirit In the Sky” by Norman Greenbaum.