This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

Talk with other musicians and industry professionals.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#58053 by TJS 1
Mon Feb 23, 2009 5:52 pm
The music industry today is crazy. I have been a drummer since the age of 7. I was taught by my father who was a drummer in the Army, and a big band drummer (not major names) but really good. I never learned how to read music but have a great ear. I played all over the East Coast as a young guy then did the family thing.

Here is the freaking deal. I want to play again but finding musicians where I live is crazy. I went on myspace one day and a so called female musician was looking for a drummer. I responded to the ad and was willing to travel to audition. Here was the response edited, (sorry but due to our record company putting an age limit on who we hire you are a little to old). What the %$@! is that.

You pay your dues, work hard to someday make it, and now you have to be young and good looking to be in a band. What about the music, the writing, the hard work to even go and record, and to make sure the music you put out is what you feel is the best. Well if it is about looking good then keep the music business the way it is. I will continue to struggle to make it my way even if I am older, a little bald, but I got something the record company's don't have, Passion, Heart, Good Work Ethics, and the backbone to say what I feel, instead of letting a so called artist doing there dirty work.

Even the music award shows can't get it right. They put rock mixed with pop, pop crossover with what ever. GET IT RIGHT.

#58072 by RhythmMan
Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:27 pm
You are judging the entire music industry, comprised of millions of individuals, record companies, groups, managers et. al. . . . . based on ONE reponse?