This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

Talk with other musicians and industry professionals.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

How do you like the songs (http://www.myspace.com/danielvolgan)?

N/A
N/A
25%
N/A
75%
#52430 by danielvolgan
Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:47 pm
Ok, I am a new composer/musician and I have some demos recorded (check here on bandmix or http://www.myspace.com/danielvolgan). Would appreciate any advice of how to promote the songs at low cost. Already have them on youtube, Myxer (ringtones) and Tunecore.

Besides that, I would also greatly appreciate any feedback on the songs (melody, lyrics) so I know how to proceed.

Thank you very much :D

If you don't mind please fill the short poll

#52480 by philbymon
Sun Jan 11, 2009 2:53 am
Listened to the 1st & the last. They're too close to each other in overall style to tell them apart.

I really don't like lyrics that have lines in them like "your sexy touch," for some reason. You could definitely word that thought better. The little I heard sounds like some old early '60's poppy/folky stuff that couldn't have made it back then. I'd really work on making my stuff a bit more unique, more exciting, & less adolescent in lyrical content. Strip down your lyric so your song can say the same thing with fewer words, yet still give a feel or an image when one hears it. If you must say things straight out like you seem to want to, don't use phrasing that sounds like a love-struck teenager from the '50's. Try to be a bit more clever with both your ideas & your word choices.

The melodies are okay, as far as they go. they seem a little over-used & sing-songish. I'd like to hear them move away from the same old chord progressions. They are pretty okay for someone just starting out, but nothing that I'd encourage anyone to try to sell without much better productions, arrangements, & tweaking.