This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

Relive your fondest & worst memories "on the road".

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#82381 by Tomthesuitforst
Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:00 pm
I am a pro guitarist out of the NY/CT area - I am finding it hard to find musicians that are really FULL-TIME and want to tour. Any suggestions on how to get to those who are really in the business on a full-time pro level?
Thanks,
Tom Forst
www.myspace.com/thomasforst

#82465 by gbheil
Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:46 pm
Man, thats a darn good question.
Perhaps through some recording studio contacts?
Being an amiture myself I would think you would have to recruit from already active bands, and or other established professionals.
Takes huevos to risk a jump like that.
Old guys mortgaged out the wazoo with teenage kids to feed wont generally make a jump like that. If they are sane.
Heck, I'd have to sneek off, er my ol lady'd pop a cap in my butt. :lol:

Best of luck though.

#82654 by Starfish Scott
Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:02 pm
Gotta have music people want to hear full time..that's really the issue.

And realistically speaking, I don't think many people just go and FULL TIME tour. You have to put in the hours before you even get close to that point, unless you are part of the support.

#82667 by Prevost82
Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:43 pm
I go talk to a highend recording studio and they will be in the know on who is out there.

In every major center there are a number of musicians that are studio musicians and support players for artist tours. Where I am, in a 2 mil pop, there maybe 2 dozen players that get all the work ...

Expect to pay 150 to 250 for each player per show, plus food and lodging for someone that has a petigree.

#82679 by gbheil
Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:29 pm
24 out of 2 mil ? Whoa, theres some odds for ya.
$250 per show + room and board :D How about beer tab?