This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

Chat about the latest toys and innovations.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#251888 by ryan1103696
Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:46 am
Hi all - I'm a pianist/keyboardist and guitarist. I have a Casio Privia Keyboard and Martin Acoustic/Electric as my two main pieces of equipment.

Recently I've had the desire to [and opportunity] to play live shows and also the added incentive of recording my music. Unfortunately, a keyboard with lowly built in speakers and a barely-functioning electric component in my guitar [oh yeah, and I don't own a microphone] is not the best equipment to have when playing in the size venues I'll be in with the demand for good, polished live music that they have.

This past week, I visited a friend who plays in a band and he took me into his basement and showed me all his gear/equipment. Basically, all I saw was a very impressive mess of pedals, switches, cables, microphones, speakers, amps, controllers, synthesizers and other things that I had no idea what they do with awesome names that seemed to consist of just numbers and letter combinations. I left my brief visit with him with my head spinning. Any questions I had quickly turned into a technical discussion with terms and jargon that went completely over my head.

I come humbly to this forum seeking some general guidance on the necessary and crucial pieces of hardware I could add to bring my live shows and practice the most benefit. Before I go into that, let me sum up musically what I'm trying to accomplish:

As a solo musician, perform a number of cover & original pieces in the wide-ranging genres of alternative, classical, rap/hip-hop and rock with as excellent sounding vocals.