This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

All users can post to this forum on general music topics.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#287185 by J-HALEY
Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:36 pm
IMO music is colorless. I too am a white boy and I have never judged a musician by the color of their skin or even gender identity or sexual preference. I have been playing music professionally as a side job for 4 decades. In that time I have played with just about every race as well as musicians that were gay. It does not matter to me, if you are a good musician and somewhat conscientious I will put a band together and share the spirituality of music with you!
While I enjoy the blues I would not play it all night. I have poured my soul, my life, everything for original music in an attempt at trying to “make it” in the past. I have to say it left me bitter as hell towards the music biz. Every since then I have played in cover bands where I can actually make money and have done just that. Having said that I am starting to get “the desire” to share my original music with one of the bands I play in and add some original music to our cover sets at gigs.
My advise to you would be don’t worry about what everyone else is doing. Find some folks that feel as you do and do your originals. I have always believed that staying focused is key. It is easy to get distracted by all of the crap within the music biz. I was watching a vid of Eddie Van Halen’s acceptance speech of a Guitar god award. He said “I am living proof that anything is possible” good luck to you and just go write, record, play your music and to hell with what anyone else thinks. The least that can happen is when your final days are at hand you can look back and say “I did the best I could and it was one hell of a ride”! :D
#287190 by schmedidiah
Sun Jun 03, 2018 2:18 pm