This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

All users can post to this forum on general music topics.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#284996 by The Connection Church
Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:36 pm
Ok, so...I'm a worship pastor of a church in Pelham, Alabama, and I've been using bandmix to seek musicians that are looking for intense and radical music to play with. We us in-ear monitors with an Aviom system and click-tracks. One would think that would attract great musicians, but i can't find any at all willing to give it a try. Yes, I think it probably has something to do with us being a church...but the music is NOT what you think it is. We are extremely diverse in style ranging from Planetshakers, to Hillsong Young & Free (Electronic mixes), Rend Collection, River Valley Worship, Elevation Worship, and the list goes on.

So what could I do to attract advanced & professional musicians OTHER than pay them? This is ministry and ministry is very difficult due to the sacrifices made to do what must be done and what you love to do...but not expect anything in return.
#284999 by J-HALEY
Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:36 pm
I think part of the problem (sadly) is most musicians want to be rock stars and don't even attend church. The other thing is they want to be PAID. I don't believe people should be paid to play at church. I do know folks that make really good money playing in church. I wouldn't do it unless I were donating my time. The church I attend (New Hope) in Pearland Texas has unbelievably good singers, players, P.A. and equipment I thoroughly enjoy the music part of church almost as much as the sermon. Good luck Brother.
#285000 by MikeTalbot
Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:37 pm