This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

Topics specific to the localities of the UK.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#184378 by Jon1685
Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:59 am
Unfortunately because this site is mostly used by musicians it is unlikely that many non-musicians will see this thread but I'm going to post it anyway in the hope that some may see it.

I've been a professional musician for many years and as always seems to be the case you get to the end of the night, you've had a good gig..then the mayhem starts! Mr and Mrs Joe Punter and their mates having had a gallon of meths decide "Ooh I can play the drums Ooh I can sing" and duly decide it's their right to come up on stage, start belting drums, yelling and spitting down microphones and throwing themselves around. With our lighting rig, PA, guitars, drums, keyboards etc there's about £40,000 of equipment on stage......do you want that bill when you've broken it? That would kind of ruin your night wouldn't it? So to put it in punters terms consider this; at the end of the night when you're wasted you can have a go on my drums and I won't mind, provided you give me your car keys and you don't mind when I start hammering it around when I'm wasted! Musicians work long and unsociable hours, they work hard to be able to afford their gear. If you go to a gig enjoy the music, have fun but don't ruin it at the end of the night by thinking you have the right to abuse very expensive gear that doesn't belong to you.

#184406 by Starfish Scott
Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:44 am
They've had too much to drink? and they can't control themselves.

You need a little security or a few of your mates to keep em down off the stage.

Besides, secretly every douchebag that heard you play thinks he or she can do better than you just did.