This is a MUSIC forum. Irrelevant or disrespectful posts/topics will be removed by Admin. Please report any forum spam or inappropriate posts HERE.

All things Keys.

Moderators: bandmixmod1, jimmy990, spikedace

#248274 by SweetChildOMine
Sat Oct 03, 2015 6:07 am
Hello everyone, great community you got here!

I am 26 years old and always been surrounded with music and by many inspiring musicians. Long story short; I used to play the piano as a child and then moved to Keyboards and then because of work and many reasons I left it and always blamed myself for not continuing. I found my real talent, the guitar. I do want to return to the Keyboard (not enough space for a piano) also I am a hobbyist music producer and a keyboard will make it easier recording my pieces.

I am no where near professional but I was hoping you could suggest a proper keyboard which has a proper sound and compatible with different DAWs such as Ableton, FL Studio, Logic Pro and BitWig.

I want to take it seriously and already worked out a schedule to be able to practice properly. I heard a couple very intriguing keyboards were released by Roland, Korg and Yamaha in the past 2 years for under $700.

I understand that for 500-700 I may not get the ultimate keyboard but I know I can get a very decent one. Please suggest the models if you've got the time for it. I really appreciate your help.

Example of one that I liked:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gaQN4qCGIE

This is another example, a bit cheaper but good bang for buck:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/keyboards-midi/williams-legato-88-key-digital-piano
#248322 by GuitarMikeB
Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:41 pm
Any keyboard would be compatible with a DAW, assuming you are recording audio and have an audio interface. IF you mean MIDI compatibility, the same applies - almost all mid-level keyboards now have MIDI out (usually USB these days).